Mayor Michael Nicholson Appointed to Governor's Transportation Funding Taskforce

Taskforce to develop recommendations for a long-term, sustainable transportation finance plan for roads, bridges, railways, & bus and transit.



Massachusetts Transportation Secretary and MassDOT CEO Monica Tibbits-Nutt speaks after swearing in the members of the Massachusetts Transportation Funding Taskforce

BOSTON, MA – March 1, 2024 – On February 29, 2024, Gardner Mayor Michael Nicholson was sworn in as a member of the Healey – Driscoll Administration's new Transportation Funding Taskforce. This task force was created by Executive Order 626,

signed by Governor Healey on January 24, 2024 with the task of developing recommendations for a long-term, sustainable transportation finance plan for roads, bridges, railways, & bus and transit. The taskforce will meet monthly between now and the end of the year to present its recommendations to the Governor's Office.

"I am very excited to be a part of this group and look forward to the work we will accomplish," said **Mayor Nicholson**. "Transportation touches every aspect of how people view our state. From economic development, housing production, public health, and more, people need to get where they want to go and often times our streets are the first impression people have of our communities. Programs like Chapter 90 funds, the Transportation Improvement Program grants, regional transportation authority funding, and more directly impact our communities, and I look forward to adding a voice with that perspective to this work. I want to thank Governor Healey for appointing me as a representative of local officials in Massachusetts."

Mayor Nicholson is the only municipal elected official who was appointed to this taskforce, as representative of the Massachusetts Municipal Association members.

Executive Order creating taskforce: https://www.mass.gov/executive-orders/no-626-creating-the-governors-transportation-funding-task-force

Press Release from Governor Healey's Office on the taskforce members being sworn in: https://www.mass.gov/news/healey-driscoll-administration-swears-in-transportation-funding-task-force-members

Other taskforce members include:

- Monica Tibbits-Nutt, Transportation Secretary and CEO, Task Force Chair
- Matt Gorzkowicz, Administration and Finance Secretary, Task Force Vice Chair
- Ed Augustus, Secretary of Housing and Livable Communities
- Lauren Jones, Secretary of Labor and Workforce Development

Yvonne Hao, Secretary of Executive Office of Economic Development

Rebecca Tepper, Secretary of Energy and Environmental Affairs

· Melissa Hoffer, Climate Chief

Quentin Palfrey, Director of Federal Funds and Infrastructure

· General Manager Phil Eng, MBTA

Brendan Crighton, Senate Chair of Transportation

William Straus, House Chair of Transportation

Jonathan Butler, 1Berkshire Chamber of Commerce

· Karen Courtney, AFL-CIO

Rebecca Davis-Carden, Mass Competitive Partnership

Jeita Deng, Harvard Kennedy School

· Kate Dineen, A Better City

Linda Dunlavy, Mass Association of RPAs

Melissa Fales, Quaboag Valley CDC

Alejandro Guardiola, Worcester Regional Chamber of Commerce

Douglas Howgate, Mass Taxpayers Foundation

Brian Kane, MBTA Advisory Board

Isabel Lopez, Brockton Worker's Alliance

· Jeff Mahoney, Construction Industries of Massachusetts

Mayor Mike Nicholson, Mass Municipal Association

Paul Niedzwiecki, Cape Cod Chamber of Commerce

Jason Palitsch, 495/MetroWest Corridor Partnership

Jim Rooney, Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

Sandra Sheehan, Mass Association of RTAs

Amie Shei, T4MA

Lisa Stiglich, 128 Business Council

Brooke Thomson, Associated Industries of Massachusetts